a love/hate relationship

Toronto

In Toronto I picked up two books of poetry from local Toronto poets. The one on the left is The Dagger Between Her Teeth by Jennifer LoveGrove. The cover art was amazing, so I had to have this one. The one below is Know Your Monkey by Elyse Friedman.

I’m looking forward to writing a talk back poem using one of these poets soon. I bought these books from a spectacular used book store in/around the Little Greek neighborhood called Circus Books & Music. (Really, stop by if you’re in Toronto.) I could have bought a lot more than these two books, but I had to limit myself.

Toronto’s art and music scene was inspiring (especially the shops along Queen Street!), and I hope to go back someday.

My jazz club recommendations for Toronto include The Rex (where we saw the University of Toronto Jazz Ensemble) and The Reservoir. Both places had fantastic music with a cool atmosphere, but they were very different places. Check ’em out!

Leave a Reply

