a love/hate relationship

How am I not myself?

“How am I not myself?”

– I Heart Huckabees

Sometimes I don’t feel like myself and I look down
and I don’t look like myself. If only I could get away
from myself for just a minute or two. Let me
shelf that thought to bring up this one:

What if we could crawl out of ourselves and into
each other, then we would still be selves just not
our selves, and then we could look at our selves
from another self. This wouldn’t be the same as

looking in a mirror. It would be a peek at yourself
from outside yourself. You could see how your edges
curve away and into space, and you could see
how alone and how together we all are, always.
One response

  1. nice poem. I like your line breaks, esp between the 2nd and 3rd stanzas. I also 3> Huckabees, damn fine film

    January 15, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Leave a Reply

