a love/hate relationship

drooling for a nook

I have a conundrum. I am a book lover and an earth lover. So much paper, so much waste!

Lately I’ve been doing research on eBook readers, and I’ve decided that the Barnes and Noble nook is the one that looks most pleasing to me. Now they’re back-ordered until January-something, so it looks as though the holiday season is working wonders for their sales.

The features that excite me include the touchscreen, the ability to share eBooks, the ability to make notes and highlight passages, previews before buying eBooks, free titles on Barnes and Noble’s website, and of course, cute accessories (yeah I know, but it’s all reminiscent of school supplies, which I absolutely adore).

Will the nook quench my thirst for reading and helping the environment? Who knows! You’ll just have to wait and see.

If you’re interested in donating to my nook fund, please message me. I will repay your kindness with warm thoughts.

One response

  1. TheKarlos

    I’d wait a few weeks. Apple is supposed to announce a new tablet computer at the end of the month which is supposed to be a fantastic eBook reader. Also, I’m not sold on the ebook thing yet. I really adore the printed page and page design. I’m a font and layout geek and I appreciate the design of a good magazine or book just as much as the written content. Good luck with your decision and keep us updated on how it works out for you.

    January 11, 2010 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

